The Henning Larsen Foundation


A number of young Danish architects have been awarded grants. In 2007 and 2008, the Foundation organised international competitions in the fields of architectural photography and architectural drawing.

The objective of the non-profit and charitable Foundation is to support Danish architecture, e.g. through further training; travelling grants; exhibition activities; publication of books on architecture; development and implementation of information technology for architectural purposes and the awarding of grants - in acknowledgement of architects who have developed significant buildings or demonstrated other achievements of high quality.

The Foundation is a natural extension of Henning Larsen’s interest in promoting and disseminating architecture - in parallel to his work as an architect and his professorship at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts, School of Architecture. This interest is also reflected in the establishment of the SKALA architectural gallery and SKALA architecture magazine in the eighties.

The Board consists of:

    Architect Troels Troelsen (Chairman)
    CEO, architect Kent Martinussen, Danish Architecture Centre
    Architect Ingela Larsson Bente Scavenius
    MA Lone Backe
    Lawyer Niels Bang

Hide all
Show all

2013: Three architects acknowledged

2013: Three architects acknowledged


The annual grants by the Henning Larsen Foundation were this year awarded to architect Mette Lange, landscape architect Marianne Levinsen and architect Hans Peter Hagens. The grants were presented on the founder's birthday 20 August.

The Board of the Foundation writes about the recognition of Marianne Levinsen: "Since her graduation in 1995 and establishment of her own studio in 2002, Marianne Levinsen has demonstrated a versatile approach to landscape architecture, working with urban spaces and landscapes in large and small scale. Her work is always characterised by great empathy and attention to human scale.

Her work demonstrates great knowledge and talent. Projects to be emphasised include the school of Munkegårdsskolen, which stands out with its unique graphic representations; CBS Campus in Frederiksberg with its straigt lines; and Tietgen Residence Hall, which takes inspiration from the circle shape. It seems that the simpler and stronger the architectural concept is, the more irresistible the works seem to be penetrated by a magical poetry. You do not feel alone. You feel the life and energy of the landscape and urban spaces regardless of the number of people present in them."

Architect Mette Lange is acknowledged by the Foundation for her work with schools for Indian children: "As part of her fine work as an architect, Mette Lange has chosen to spend time on designing schools for overlooked Indian children of parents often referred to as 'travelling workers' - the day-labourers of the 21st century. Designed as floating volumes, the schools can follow the children and parents in their work along the Tiracol River in Goa.

The schools are very, very small and yet form part of something so much larger. They are a beautiful gesture - as beautiful as something can be when it is not beautiful in an aesthetic sense, but more in a constructive and functional meaning of the word.

Being an architect in the 21st century can take many shapes. Through her buildings, Mette Lange shows how it is possible to design buildings in Denmark and India at the same time - buildings which by simple means build on and develop Danish architecture tradition into plain, yet delicate highlights of space, light and materiality."

Architect Hans Peter Hagens is awarded grants to a book about Torvehallerne - the distinctive food market of Copenhagen: "The Henning Larsen Foundation recognises Hans Peter Hagens for his year-long efforts to make Torvehallerne a reality and a success, to the everyday joy and benefit of the Copenhageners. Not only has he had strong visions for the market place, he also has a dream that every city and town in Denmark should offer a 'garden of eden' - that is, a poetic and aesthetic breathing space stimulating the five human senses."

Mette Lange, Marianne Levinsen and Hans Peter Hagens are each awarded a grant of 100,000 DKK.

Former Award Winners

Former Award Winners

Architect Mette Lange
Landscape architect Marianne Levinsen
Architect Hans Peter Hagens
Read the press release

International competition for writing about architecture

1st Prize: Nathan Romero Muelas
2nd Prize: Daniel Persson
3rd Prize: Sanne Flyvbjerg
3rd Prize: Mette Marie Kallehauge
3rd Prize: Tinne Delfs
Read more about the competion and the winners

Journalist Henrik Sten Møller
Architect Kjeld Kjeldsen

Architectural photographer Jens Lindhe

Architect Theo Berg

International competition for architectural drawing

1st Prize: Robert Müller, Austria
2nd Prize: Julian Busch, Germany
3rd Prize: Julie Huang Jahn, Denmark
3rd Prize: Barnabas Wetton & Chris Thurlbourne, Denmark
3rd Prize: Clemens Helmke & Dorothée Billard, Germany

International architectural photography competition

2nd Prize: Michael Stefan Rathje-Sørensen, Denmark
2nd Prize: Ditz Fejer, Austria
3rd Prize: Nils Lund Pedersen, Denmark
Honorary mention: Lars Gundersen, Denmark
Honorary mention: Casper Balslev og Mads Nisssen, Denmark

Artist Jytte Rex

Studio Force4: Andreas Lauesen, Christian Dalsdorf, Maja Asaa and Mikala Holme Samsøe

Studio Kollision: Andreas Lykke-Olesen, Tobias Løssing and Rune Nielsen
Architect Kent Martinussen
Film director Nils Vest

Architect Julien De Smedt

Architect Dorte Mandrup-Poulsen
Architect Merete Ahnfeldt-Mollerup

Architect Bjarke Ingels


Communications Manager
Phone: +45 8231 3160
download vCard